LM_NET: Library Media Networking

Previous by DateNext by Date Date Index
Previous by ThreadNext by Thread Thread Index
LM_NET Archive

Joan Miller,

     According to John Clute and Peter Nicholls's The Encyclopedia of
Science Fiction (St. Martin's  1993), the Philip K. Dick Award was
"founded in 1983 by admirers of Philip K. Dick, who died in 1982.
Because much of Dick's classic sf was published with no fanfare and
initially without a hardcover edition, it seemed appropriate to give the
award to a distinguished work of sf or fantasy of the previous year first
published in paperback."

     If you want more details about qualifications, how the winners are
chosen, the monetary awards, and a list of winners from 1983 to 1992,
please let me know.


Gene LaFaille
Brunswick School

LM_NET Archive Home