Previous by DateNext by Date Date Index
Previous by ThreadNext by Thread Thread Index
LM_NET Archive

--------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Amanda Latreille <ALATREIL@MAIL.NYSED.GOV>
Amanda Latreille
New York State Library



Dr. Louis A. Ciota, Chair of the Regents Advisory Council on Libraries,
has announced that applications are now available for the Joseph F.
Shubert Library Excellence Award, which recognizes the achievements of
small, medium and large libraries and library consortia of New York

The Award was first established as part of the Regents Advisory Council
on Libraries 1994-95 centennial observance, and it is named after Joseph
F. Shubert, former New York State Librarian.  Members of the 2005 Award
Committee are Dr. Karen Patricia Smith (Chair), Dr. Louis A. Ciota and
Mr. Irving Toliver.

The Award will recognize a library or library consortium that has taken
significant steps to improve the quality of library service to its
users.  This year, the award is co-sponsored by EBSCO Information
Services, and funded by that organization in the amount of $1,000.

In 2004, the Council recognized the Rochester Regional Library Council
in Rochester, New York for its "CLIC-on-Health" project.  The
project brings together libraries, health organizations and
associations, healthcare delivery systems and educational institutions
in order to provide the people of the greater Rochester area with
high-quality healthcare information and resources. It features a web
portal with information specific to Rochester healthcare and a training
component to provide instruction in the use of health information on the

Last year, the Council also recognized the Cortland Junior/Senior High
School Library in Cortland, New York for its "Parent-Child Book
Club."  The book club brings eighth graders and their parents
together for literary discussions and presentations by authors.

For a copy of the application form and information on the Joseph F.
Shubert Library Excellence Award, please go to  Projects
nominated for the Award should document measurable progress in
identifying user needs, taking steps to meet those needs and evaluating
the results.  Previous applicants are encouraged to re-apply, and
previous winners of the Award may re-apply after 3 years.  The deadline
for submission is May 2, 2005.

For more information, please contact:

Patty Case
Regents Advisory Council on Libraries
Joseph F. Shubert Library Excellence Award
New York State Library
10D45 Cultural Education Center
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: (518) 474-1195

Members of the Regents Advisory Council on Libraries are:

Ellen Bach, Attorney, Whiteman, Osterman & Hanna, LLP
Mary Lou Caskey, Director, Mid-York Library System
Dr. Louis A. Ciota, Principal, Middle Hope Elementary School
Ginnie Cooper, Executive Director, Brooklyn Public Library
Norman J. Jacknis, Chief Information Officer, Department of Information
Technology, Westchester County
Timothy V. Johnson, Assistant Director for Programs and Services,
Metropolitan New York Library Council (METRO)
Lucretia McClure, Special Assistant to the Director, Countway Library
of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Cerise Oberman, Dean of Library and Information Services, Plattsburgh
State University
Samuel L. Simon, Trustee, Ramapo Catskill Library System
Dr. Karen Patricia Smith, Professor, Queens College Graduate School of
Library and Information Studies
Carol Tauriello, Director, Erie 1 BOCES School Library System
Irving Toliver, Director, Human Services Department, Town of

All LM_NET postings are protected by copyright law.
To change your LM_NET status, e-mail to:
In the message write EITHER: 1) SIGNOFF LM_NET  2) SET LM_NET NOMAIL
3) SET LM_NET MAIL  4) SET LM_NET DIGEST  * Allow for confirmation.
LM_NET Help & Information:
EL-Announce with LM_NET Select:
LM_NET Supporters:

LM_NET Mailing List Home