Previous by DateNext by Date Date Index
Previous by ThreadNext by Thread Thread Index
LM_NET Archive



Dear Colleagues 

The Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County (PLCMC),
TeachingBooks.net, and Chicago Public Schools Department of Libraries and
Information Services are pleased to announce a very special event,
*"A* *Festival
of Authors"*, a virtual literary celebration that will take place on
Saturday, February 2,  from 10 am to 2 pm PST (1 pm  5 pm EST), in Teen
Second Life. This event will showcase selected authors of young adult
literature for a teen audience in an exhibition that provides author
information and links to podcasts, videoclips, and a wealth of author
website links.  There will also be avatar author appearances by Marc Aronson
(10 am PST/1pm EST), Barry Lyga (11 am PST/2pm EST), and Carol Baldwin (12
pm PST/3pm EST).

Teen Second Life (http://teen.secondlife.com) is a 3D virtual world where
teens can learn valuable 21st century skills and build a variety of
developmental assets as they engage with their peers from all over the
world, communicate in multiple media formats, and express their identities
through their own virtual appearances.

Teens have helped construct a space for author exhibits with content
provided by TeachingBooks.net, including author photos, brief profiles,
selected bibliographies, and links to other interesting information about
the authors. Teens have helped select the authors they would like showcased.
Writing, role playing, and anime/manga groups are just some of the
teen-driven, literary-related groups within Teen Second Life. Authors of
young adult literature can participate via a display or as an avatar, a
digital representation of themselves.  To learn more about this event, how
to log onto Teen Second Life (13  17 year olds), how to visit a companion
educator's literary festival (18 years +) and to download a flyer, visit *
http://blogs.cuip.net/dlis/festival-of-authors*.

Thanks,

*Lisa E. Perez*
Area Library Coordinator (HS)
CPS Professional Librarian
Medill Training Center
1326 W. 14th Pl, Rm 216
Chicago, Illinois  60608
773-553-6212 (ph), 773-553-6211 (fax)
http://www.cps.k12.il.us/aboutcps/departments/libraries
ISTE Media Specialists SIG Chair-Elect
Second Life Avatar: Elaine Tulip
http://blogs.cuip.net/dlis

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Please note: All LM_NET postings are protected by copyright law.
  You can prevent most e-mail filters from deleting LM_NET postings
  by adding LM_NET@LISTSERV.SYR.EDU to your e-mail address book.
To change your LM_NET status, e-mail to: listserv@listserv.syr.edu
In the message write EITHER: 1) SIGNOFF LM_NET  2) SET LM_NET NOMAIL
 3) SET LM_NET MAIL  4) SET LM_NET DIGEST  * Allow for confirmation.
 * LM_NET Help & Information: http://www.eduref.org/lm_net/
 * LM_NET Archive: http://www.eduref.org/lm_net/archive/
 * EL-Announce with LM_NET Select: http://lm-net.info/
 * LM_NET Supporters: http://www.eduref.org/lm_net/ven.html
 * LM_NET Wiki: http://lmnet.wikispaces.com/
--------------------------------------------------------------------


LM_NET Mailing List Home